#EverydayLife

The Job I Didn’t Get

24 Days of Grateful [Day 11]

Every day, I drive by a place that I interviewed at four days before I graduated college. It was a copy writing job, something I wanted desperately at the time but am now infinitely grateful that I didn’t get. I really had a shot, too. I was a good candidate and I knew it. Maybe that hurt me a little bit; maybe I was a little too confident.

Or it could have been the fact that the meeting fell into my lap in a time span of 24 hours. I sent an application, had a reply in minutes, and an hour later I had an interview set up for the very next morning. This was during Senior Week, a week of drinking, staying up too late, and focusing on cramming in the last few days of college. I am fairly sure I was also still trying to wrap up loose ends of my thesis, because what student isn’t doing that?

I did get enough sleep the night before, but one night does not remedy numerous bad decisions made a days prior. I was also slammed with a terrible cold and I felt plain awful. I had a red nose, a headache, had to have my mother pick me up from school, and did not have my “office” clothes at the dorm.

It wasn’t that I felt the interview went poorly — as interviews go, it probably went okay. But I was not myself the day of that meeting and I know that made a difference. When I realized I didn’t get the job, I was devastated and decided I had shot my one chance of employment in the foot. In hindsight, this was dramatic. But it bothered me, and my sole source of comfort was my trust that God knows what He is doing.

Naturally, He did, and I have a job now (coming up on a one year anniversary, actually) that is a much better fit for me. Copy writing would have been fine – fine being the operative word there – but what I do is primarily not writing, and that is better for my writing. I mean, I do write. But not to the extent I would have in this job. Thinking about it, I believe that copy writing job would have slowly stolen my soul. Your art must never, never equal the value on your paycheck. It must never have a number, because it is worth more than is quantifiable. Thanks to not writing for a living, I still love writing.

I’m really, really grateful I didn’t get that job.

P.S. – I am having serious NaNoWriMo withdrawals. I miss my novel. But I still think it is better to wait a few more weeks before editing. I’m still in the honeymoon phase of writing it and I know my edits won’t make sense yet. But…the waiting! Any other Wrimos feeling this way?

8 thoughts on “The Job I Didn’t Get

  1. Thoughtful words. I had a similar experience as yours, in which I was not accepted into a publishing/editing program after graduation. Glad that I didn’t get in, though, as now I am currently living abroad and enjoying my time here while teaching on the side. Definitely agree with your statement: “Your art must never, never equal the value on your paycheck.” Never heard such wise words. True, happiness doesn’t always equate with money, but in the end, it’s how you see it, and make do with it.

    Like

    1. Life always turns out for the better, doesn’t it? Living abroad is so amazing and I’m glad you get to experience it. I miss my time in Europe every single day. Happiness certainly has everything to do with perspective and less to do with the situation.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, that is exactly it! God only knows 3 answers: Yes / Not yet / I have something better for you
    It was important that the conditions were around for you to not get that one job in order to be free for the other one and also that previous interview might have been necessary to prepare you for the “important” one! A wonderful insight to be grateful for!!! I thank you for the inspiration to that challenge, Alexandra!

    Like

  3. Very beautiful story. A lot of times, the things that appear to be going wrong end up going well. God works in wonderful ways for those who put their trust in him. I like what @Erika Kind says, ‘ I am always curious about what is waiting for me when something did not work out.’

    Like

Join the Conversation

