#EverydayLife

Christmas Lights and Christmas Books

24 Days of Grateful [Day 15]

Today, a list:

  1. I am grateful that I have been at my job for exactly one year today.
  2. I am grateful that I have a small plastic Christmas tree that used to be my grandmother’s.
  3. I am grateful I have lights on my porch, because lights are bright and cute.
  4. I am grateful my Christmas shopping is done, because I hate rushing things. I am an over-planner — chronically early for everything, but that is how I like it.
  5. I am grateful I have bread and milk and heat.
  6. I am grateful there are ornaments on my tree and that even living alone, it feels like Christmas because I am happy.
  7. I am grateful for my family.
  8. I am grateful for my boyfriend.
  9. I am grateful for my friends.
  10. Lastly, I am grateful for books. Especially lighthearted Christmas ones that I found at the library. (I have two options I found yesterday  – Candy Cane Murder by Joanne Fluke or What Happens at Christmas by Victoria Alexander. Okay, the former doesn’t sound too festive. But it does sound hysterical.)

Speaking of books, I finished The Space Between Us by Thrity Umrigar last night and was crying before I fell asleep. Thought about that book all day today, and it continues to unsettle me. It’s a good read, but not one you want during the holidays. I may review it sometime. Basically, it was so beautiful and so sad it drove me to a book called Candy Cane Murder for my next read. I hope this one is silly and easy. Okay, now I am rambling. Goodnight ❤

5 thoughts on “Christmas Lights and Christmas Books

  1. Aw, very sweet…I am especially happy for you, to have passed such a pleasant year with a stable job, a boyfriend, and plenty of happy moments.

    …and early-planner, ftw! I’m the same, too! 🙂

    Like

Join the Conversation

