#AmWriting

Year in Review: 2015

24 Days of Grateful [Day 24]

Merry Christmas Eve, everyone! I thought I would end my 24 Days of Grateful Challenge by letting you know how grateful I am for my readers. That goes for not only the people who read what I post on this blog, but anyone who has read work that I published this past year for other magazines. Sometimes, I forget that being published was always my dream, and even though my audience is small, people are still reading and I have words in print. So that is exciting and I never want to stop enjoying the rush of thinking, drafting, editing, and publishing. Thank you for reading, commenting, liking, and following! ❤

This blog has been around for a little over one year. In that time, it has waffled from being a place where I posted weekly articles on Sundays, to a place where I posted personal essays on Tuesdays, to a place where I (briefly) tried to post a lot more click bait content in hopes of getting more views. I have stopped that habit, thankfully, and my new goal for 2016 is to write what I want to write when I want to write it. No more schedules or plotted articles. I have labored over a lot of perfectly formed stories, and it took me a long time to realize that this does not fulfill me. What I want my blog to be is just that — a blog. A place for my everyday life. And everyday life is chock full with imperfections, typos, and rambles.

So if you are a reader who wants to join me, yay! If not, that’s okay. In the future, this space is going to be much more like what it was this past month — my personal thoughts, moments, and experiences written randomly and happily. This will be more of a diary and less like the “magazine” it was born as. I have stopped caring about views that I don’t have, and I just want to keep nurturing the words that drive me crazy if I leave them inside.

That being said, I saw The Finicky Cynic do a “Top Ten Posts of 2015” and it inspired me to think back on my own blog journey of 2015.

For what it is worth, I now have 246 followers (this fact is more for me to look back on next year and compare). I have published around 70 posts since Alexandra Write Now was born and had a lot of big life changes happen since January 1.

  1. I started a new post-graduate life with a new job.
  2. I cut off all my hair.
  3. I completed my first Tough Mudder.
  4. I was nominated for my first Blogger Award (shout out to Beautifully Bowman).
  5. I moved out of my parent’s house.
  6. I started doing yoga.
  7. I visited Las Vegas and the Grand Canyon.
  8. I wrote my first novel.

I have had a very successful, inspiring, and challenging year filled with blessings and joy. Every year at this time, I think about how 365 days ago, I never would have imagined being where I am now. That is no different this year. I am in a place I didn’t expect to be, but that is the fun part, isn’t it? I wouldn’t want to be in the same exact place one year from now. That would mean I didn’t do any growing.

So, Happy Holidays and Happy New Year, everyone! I will see you all in 2016 (unless I pop back in with another blog post that I haven’t thought of yet).

P.S. – Here are some pictures of Christmas lights. Because it is Christmas.

3 thoughts on “Year in Review: 2015

Join the Conversation

