#EverydayLife

Blizzard Blog

snow

How is everyone enjoying the blizzard this weekend? Here in Central Massachusetts, we are supposed to be getting a paltry 1-3 inches. Fine with me. That is much better than the 8 feet + we were beginning to get at this time last year…

Anyway, as I sit here in my apartment watching the snow swirl outside in pale gusts and soft white sprinkles, I just feel like talking.

  • One of my friends introduced me to a new cafe this morning. It is called In House Cafe and I am already obsessed. Reasonable prices and they have specialty drinks that are coffee-free!!! I had a Cinnamon Bun Hot Chocolate and it was delicious. I get frustrated with places like Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts because as a non-coffee drinker, I find myself often stuck ordering a Chai Tea Latte. Which is great, but it was nice to see a bunch of different options at this place. Next time I shall get the Red Velvet Hot Chocolate.
  • Coming along with my book. Planning to get the first draft completely edited by January 31 so I can start typing the edits and writing additional scenes in February. I’m pretty pleased with how it’s going. I still like my story, even in the fresh, clear air that is two months-post NaNo. Note to self: Taking a month away from the work was a really good decision. The pages are bleeding with red ink and that is exactly what I need to be doing at this stage.
  • My boyfriend and I started watching House of Cards. (Dear family/friends who have been telling me to watch it for months, you were right…) It is addicting and stunningly written, not to mention it challenges your intelligence every step of the way. I respect anyone who works on The Hill — despite this series being a drama and an exaggeration, I don’t think it is that far off from reality (although I have it on good authority that Veep is closer to what The Hill is actually like 😉 ). I definitely do not have the gall for politics. Is that a good thing? Does it mean I am a weak person, or a kind person? Are some politicians kind people who become political, or are they political people who don’t care about being kind? Is power the driver of many people – or is it money? Are these the same thing? What makes people selfish? This show is making me question a lot of things about human nature, the United States, politicians, myself… Questions are always a good thing, so I am excited to get more into it. Only 4 episodes in right now but I was hooked ten minutes into the first one. If you also just finished Making a Murderer and are looking to become obsessed with something else, I highly recommend House of Cards. It is intense even if you don’t want to ask hard questions about life.

So these are my thoughts of the day. I am sitting on my couch with leftover fries from Five Guys and a lemonade, loving the fact that I have a giant French door to watch the storm through.

4 thoughts on “Blizzard Blog

Join the Conversation

