#MindBodySoul

Run Recap: Crossing Town Lines

The next half marathon on my list is in less than a month, and my training has been barred a bit by a blizzard on Friday and one blowing about as we speak. Nothing we don’t expect of February.  But I have been lucky, and the past couple of Sundays have been warmer and drier than the rest of the week. This is helpful as Sundays are when I do my longer runs (aka 5+ miles). Yesterday, I did a slow seven-miler and felt really good during it. My boyfriend and I tried a new route (his pick) and it was a nice mixture of hills that hurt but rewarded you with pretty lake views and steady stretches of flat in between. Definitely a good choice for building endurance, and the bright sun and snow trickling down from branches in the heat was beautiful.unnamed

I find myself looking forward to Sundays more and more each week, mainly because it is usually the only day that I have enough time to do a run that will take more than 30-45 minutes. Running shouldn’t be about rushing, although sometimes you do want to go fast. My favorite part of my day is often when I am outside, and more and more I find myself not wanting to speed through that. A slow pace is not a bad thing as long as you keep going.

Unexpectedly, our route cut across a town line! I think this is one of the coolest things you can do on a run. Even though I live in an area where towns are pretty small and you can drive through three in twenty minutes, it is still exciting to pass a sign like this on foot.

Three more Sundays before the race! I just bought some new sneakers since my knees were starting to bother me, and that is always a sure sign that my shoes have lost their support. I upped the anti and went with Asics Nimbus instead of the Cumulus. Both are good for plantar fasciitis but the Nimbus is the next level of support. These will definitely be broken in before the half marathon. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Run Recap: Crossing Town Lines

  1. Crossing town lines gives a subtle, but very gratifying feeling, through all of the sweat and pain. When I ran cross country in high school, it wasn’t very uncommon to have workouts that took me through three cities! Now living in a small town in France, crossing through another town is quite simple as well, albeit more spread out.

    …wishing you well with upcoming races and workouts! Do be very careful with your knees; don’t damage them!

    Like

Join the Conversation

