#MindBodySoul

Run Recap: Heartbeat Going Strong

Recently, I have been listening to a lot of Pentatonix on my runs. I have been a fan of their music for years, always finding it simultaneously relaxing and stimulating. They have creative beats, as they are an acappella group, but they aren’t intrusive. I can do other things while listening to their songs, which I love for the office — sometimes you need a little background noise to get a project done.  Conversely, I also get really pumped up listening to their songs while working out. One of my favorites recently has been “Take Me Home,” especially this part:

And don’t you forget
The only thing that matters is your heartbeat going strong
Oh, don’t you forget
That nothing else can matter cause you know where I belong

I love these lyrics for several reasons. Firstly, they remind me that no matter how fast I am going, all that matters is that I am putting in the effort and doing something positive for my body. Running makes your heart strong.

Secondly, and on a much deeper level, this part makes me think of how lucky I am to have legs and a heart that actually work and are strong enough to run. There are so many people that get in accidents or are suffering from disabilities or illnesses that prevent them from being active. I never want to take it for granted that I am able to run and that my heartbeat is going strong. That is something to be grateful about every time I put on my sneakers or sit down on the yoga mat. ❤photo

Here are a few of my other Pentatonix favorites:

  1. Sing
  2. Misbehavin’
  3. Ref
  4. Cracked
  5. Water
4 thoughts on “Run Recap: Heartbeat Going Strong

  1. Can I tell you something?
    I went to high school with Kristie, Mitch, and Scott…. they graduated when I was a freshman.
    It is so crazy how big they have gotten!

    Like

Join the Conversation

