Am Reading

Book Review: Wildflower

41wmBRmC+HL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_For my birthday, I received a book I normally wouldn’t have picked up on my own. I don’t reach for books by celebrities because I often feel like there are so many better books out there; celebrity-authored books are by people who are famous, but not for writing. It is probably small-minded of me, but personally, I buy books by authors known because they are good writers, not because they are a Youtube or movie star.

All that aside, I was intrigued by Drew Barrymore’s memoir. She is one of my favorite actresses (move aside, Anne Hathaway), and I hoped her book wouldn’t make me feel like I was reading a ghost-written memoir. It certainly did not do that. In fact, my favorite thing about it was the candidness. I know that Drew wrote this because there are so many things in the text that I believe many writers wouldn’t do. For example, the sentences were halting, imperfect, and frequently ended with exclamation points. They were a little forced at times, but the flaws were charming. I could hear Drew say some of the words, thanks to her iconic tone of voice and half-smile. I loved going behind the scenes of 50 First Dates and Big Miracle. As I was reading, I found myself thinking, “You can’t make this stuff up.” It was cool to meet the actress I have loved in so many movies (Fever Pitch might be my favorite) and connect with her on a human level.

“Human” is probably the best word I can use to describe this memoir. On the book jacket, it says, “We all have stories to tell. These are mine.”Drew writes about her beloved dogs, becoming a legal adult as a child, and learning how to do laundry. She also writes about giving birth to her eldest daughter, Olive, in a touching chapter where she describes their first moments together. Overall, this is a collection of significant moments in Drew’s life, and one lesson it shares is that important events are so often not the monumental ones.

This inspired some personal reflection on my part, and that is really all you can ask of a book, isn’t it?

Another thing I liked about it was that it was not set up chronologically. Some people may dislike chapters that bounce around and don’t follow a natural thread, but I liked that the stories came alive not necessarily in the order they happened. It kept the book moving in an unexpected way and also made it an easy one to read over a long period of time — aka, it is seamless to pick this up, read one chapter, and then the next day switch to an entirely different book if you aren’t in the mood for Wildflower. It is more of a collection of short stories than anything else.

All in all, I enjoyed this book, and I definitely recommend for light summer reading, or for those days when all you have is ten minutes but you want to read something. Read a chapter of Wildflower. I think there will be a few of these I will return to when I need a little pick-me-up.

Be my friend on Goodreads and check out what books I will be reviewing in the future! ❤

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Wildflower

  1. Great review! Like you, I tend not to pick up celebrity autobiographies, but as someone who strongly values authenticity, you’ve done a great job selling this book. Thanks for bringing it across my radar.

    Liked by 1 person

Join the Conversation

